Schedule of Classes, Assignments, and Video Recordings

The date on which I begin each topic is subject to change. I intend to update this schedule to reflect that actual starting dates for the topics during the semester. It's simply too difficult to predict in advance just how long it will take to adequately cover each topic. – LB
The Laws of Motion, Part 1 Read Video Due
1. Aug 23, 2017 Wednesday Introduction and Skating Section 1.1    
2. Aug 25, 2017 Friday        
3. Aug 28, 2017 Monday Falling Balls Section 1.2    
4. Aug 30, 2017 Wednesday Ramps Section 1.3    
5. Sept 1, 2017 Friday        
6. Sept 4, 2017 Monday        
The Laws of Motion, Part 2      
7. Sept 6, 2017 Wednesday Seesaws Section 2.1   PS 1
8. Sept 8, 2017 Friday Wheels Section 2.2    
9. Sept 11, 2017 Monday Bumper Cars Section 2.3    
Mechanical Objects, Part 1      
10. Sept 13, 2017 Wednesday Spring Scales Section 3.1   PS 2
11. Sept 15, 2017 Friday        
12. Sept 18, 2017 Monday Ball Sports: Bouncing Section 3.2    
13. Sept 20, 2017 Wednesday Carousels and Roller Coasters Section 3.3   PS 3
Mechanical Objects, Part 2      
14. Sept 22, 2017 Friday Bicycles Section 4.1    
15. Sept 25, 2017 Monday Midterm Exam 1      
16. Sept 27, 2017 Wednesday Rockets Section 4.2    
17. Sept 29, 2017 Friday        
18. Oct 2, 2017 Monday No Class - Reading Holiday      
Fluids      
19. Oct 4, 2017 Wednesday Balloons Section 5.1   PS 4
20. Oct 6, 2017 Friday Water Distribution Section 5.2    
21. Oct 9, 2017 Monday        
22. Oct 11, 2017 Wednesday       PS 5
Fluids and Motion      
23. Oct 13, 2017 Friday Garden Watering Section 6.1    
24. Oct 16, 2017 Monday        
25. Oct 18, 2017 Wednesday Ball Sports: Air Section 6.2   PS 6
26. Oct 20, 2017 Friday Airplanes Section 6.3    
27. Oct 23, 2017 Monday Midterm Exam 2      
28. Oct 25, 2017 Wednesday Woodstoves Section 7.1    
29. Oct 27, 2017 Friday        
Heat      
30. Oct 30, 2017 Monday        
31. Nov 1, 2017 Wednesday Water, Steam, and Ice Section 7.2   PS 7
32. Nov 3, 2017 Friday        
33. Nov 6, 2017 Monday Clothing, Insulation, and Climate Section 7.3    
34. Nov 8, 2017 Wednesday       PS 8
35. Nov 10, 2017 Friday Air Conditioners Section 8.1    
Thermodynamics      
36. Nov 13, 2017 Monday        
37. Nov 15, 2017 Wednesday Automobiles Section 8.2   PS 9
38. Nov 17, 2017 Friday Clocks Section 9.1    
Resonance and Mechanical Waves      
39. Nov 20, 2017 Monday        
40. Nov 22, 2017 Wednesday Thanksgiving Recess      
41. Nov 24, 2017 Friday Thanksgiving Recess      
42. Nov 27, 2017 Monday Musical Instruments Section 9.2    
43. Nov 29, 2017 Wednesday       PS 10
44. Dec 1, 2017 Friday The Sea and Surfing      
45. Dec 4, 2017 Monday        
46. Dec 14 2017 Thursday Final Examination (9am – 12noon)