Schedule of Classes, Assignments, and Video Recordings

The date on which I begin each topic is subject to change. I intend to update this schedule to reflect that actual starting dates for the topics during the semester. It's simply too difficult to predict in advance just how long it will take to adequately cover each topic. – LB
The Laws of Motion, Part 1 Read Lecture Video Due Class Video
1. January 13, 2020 Monday Introduction and Skating Section 1.1 Skating   20200113
2. January 15, 2020 Wednesday         20200115
3. January 17, 2020 Friday Falling Balls Section 1.2 Falling Balls   20200117
    January 20, 2020 Monday No Classes - MLK Holiday        
4. January 22, 2020 Wednesday Ramps Section 1.3 Ramps    
5. January 24, 2020 Friday          
The Laws of Motion, Part 2        
6. January 27, 2020 Monday Seesaws Section 2.1 Seesaws    
7. January 29, 2020 Wednesday Wheels Section 2.2 Wheels PS1  
8. January 31, 2020 Friday          
9. February 3, 2020 Monday Bumper Cars Section 2.3 Bumper Cars    
Electric and Magnetic Forces        
10. February 5, 2020 Wednesday Static Electricity Section 10.1   PS2  
11. February 7, 2020 Friday          
12. February 10, 2020 Monday Xerographic Copiers Section 10.2      
13. February 12, 2020 Wednesday       PS3  
14. February 14, 2020 Friday Flashlights Section 10.3      
15. February 17, 2020 Monday Midterm Exam 1        
16. February 19, 2020 Wednesday          
Electrodynamics        
17. February 21, 2020 Friday Household Magnets Section 11.1      
18. February 24, 2020 Monday          
19. February 26, 2020 Wednesday Electric Power Distribution Section 11.2   PS4  
20. February 28, 2020 Friday          
Electromagnetic Waves        
21. March 2, 2020 Monday Radio Section 12.1      
22. March 4, 2020 Wednesday       PS5  
23. March 6, 2020 Friday Microwave Ovens (on Video)        
      March 7-15, 2020 Spring Break        
24. March 16, 2020 Monday Section 12.2      
Light        
25. March 18, 2020 Wednesday Sunlight Section 13.1   PS6  
26. March 20, 2020 Friday (on Video)        
27. March 23, 2020 Monday Midterm Exam 2        
28. March 25, 2020 Wednesday Discharge Lamps Section 13.2      
29. March 27, 2020 Friday          
30. March 30, 2020 Monday LEDs and Lasers Section 13.3      
31. April 1, 2020 Wednesday       PS7  
Optics and Electronics        
32. April 3, 2020 Friday Cameras (on Video) Section 14.1      
33. April 6, 2020 Monday          
34. April 8, 2020 Wednesday Optical Recording and Communication Section 14.2   PS8  
35. April 10, 2020 Friday          
36. April 13, 2020 Monday Audio Players/Cell Phones Section 14.3      
37. April 15, 2020 Wednesday       PS9  
Modern Physics        
38. April 17, 2020 Friday Nuclear Weapons (on Video) Section 15.1      
39. April 20, 2020 Monday          
40. April 22, 2020 Wednesday Nuclear Reactors Section 15.2      
41. April 24, 2020 Friday Medical Imaging and Radiation Section 15.3   PS10  
42. April 27, 2020 Monday Final Review        
43. May 8, 2020 Friday Final Examination (9am – 12noon)        

As a College Fellow for 2020-2022, I am required to attend these four events:

Since those obligatory events occur during class meetings, I will prepare videos to be shown on those dates and also made available online.

Lou Bloomfield